Thomas Metcalf Travel Awards – 2012 Guidelines

The 2012 Thomas Metcalf Travel Awards support travel costs of those with PhDs received from 2008 - 2012 to enable them to participate in a meeting relevant to solar physics. Metcalf Lecturers will be selected based on their potential for future contributions to the field of solar physics and relevance to the topic of the meeting. Recipients will be expected to present results relevant to their thesis or current work in solar physics and must be members of the Solar Physics Division.

Applications for travel awards will be accepted from **organizers** of meetings relevant to solar physics that will take place before December 31, 2012. Applications should be no more than two pages in length and should include the name, location, date, and topic of the meeting. Organizers should indicate how they plan to use the Metcalf Awards to maximize the impact on the field of solar physics. The application should also include a plan for how Metcalf Lecturers will be selected and provide a budget. Lecturer awards must be approved by the Metcalf Travel Award Committee chair and awards will be paid directly to the awardees by the SPD.

The Metcalf Travel Award Committee for 2012 is Todd Hoeksema (chair), Marc DeRosa, and Kathy Reeves. Applications are due to the committee chair by October 15, 2011 for meetings taking place before December 31, 2012. The committee will announce the selections by November 30, 2011. For 2012 \$7000 is available and the expectation is that awards will be made to support at least two meetings.

Metcalf lecturers must present their work at the meeting they attend and must provide to the committee a one-page summary of their work suitable for public distribution on the Metcalf Lecturer web site.

General information about the awards and specific requirements can be found at http://spd.aas.org/spd_metcalf travel.html and http://spd.aas.org/spd_metcalf travel.html and http://spd.aas.org/docs/MetcalfRules General.pdf